haleypbaileythecelibatehalibut

It was 1998…or so.  Jan and I had been friends for some time, and my lady, Parker, and I were living above him – renting from Peter and Charlotta, while Jan lived in the 1st floor and basement. This allowed us plenty of time to listen to music or make music-type noise in the basement.  An excellent arrangement all around.

We were always coming up with ridiculous ideas. Sometimes we would follow through – like when we hatched the idea for the book “Haley P. Bailey, the Celibate Halibut.” We were going to sell it to a right-wing Christian publisher, who would love the message about not consumating before marriage.  He was going to do the illustrations, but one day he knocked on the door upstairs with a sad look on his face. “Tim,” he said. “We’ve got a problem.” I said “what do you mean we have a problem? I just finished the story, and with your drawings it’s sure to make us both a bajillion dollars.”

Jan shook his head. “I just looked it up at the library, and the halibut is ONE UGLY fish.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment